Dancing shadows walk the Earth

The Know Why the Nightingale Sings series

seurasaari-2
Iron Maiden – Fear of the Dark

I am a man who walks alone
And when I’m walking a dark road
At night or strolling through the park

When the light begins to change
I sometimes feel a little strange
A little anxious when it’s dark.

Fear of the dark, fear of the dark
I have constant fear that something’s always near
Fear of the dark, fear of the dark
I have a phobia that someone’s always there

Have you run your fingers down the wall
And have you felt your neck skin crawl
When you’re searching for the light ?
Sometimes when you’re scared to take a look
At the corner of the room
You’ve sensed that something’s watching you.

Have you ever been alone at night
Thought you heard footsteps behind
And turned around and no-one’s there ?
And as you quicken up your pace
You find it hard to look again
Because you’re sure there’s someone there

Watching horror films the night before
Debating witches and folklore
The unknown troubles on your mind
Maybe your mind is playing tricks
You sense, and suddenly eyes fix
On dancing shadows from behind.

Fear of the dark, fear of the dark
I have a constant fear, thought you heard
Fear of the dark, fear of the dark
I have a phobia that someone’s always there.

When I’m walking a dark road
I am a man who walks alone

From the album Fear Of The Dark (1992)

seurasaariI know the lyrics say “Dancing shadows from behind” and not “walk the earth”, but that’s what I understood originally, and I think it sounds better :p
This cute animal is a Raccoon dog (Nyctereutes procyonoides). Like the minks from last time, it’s an introduced species, bred for its fur.

seurasaari-6 seurasaari-4
We saw it in Seurasaari; someone was feeding it with some kind of bread, so it was easy to take pictures. Not really what you would call a wild animal, but it was funny, and I had never seen one.

seurasaari-3 seurasaari-5 seurasaari-7

While you are reading my hundredth article (HURRAY! Thank you everyone for your support and your amazing comments :)), I am (hopefully) traveling in Lapland with my friend Vincent. Of course there will be articles and pictures (keep an eye on Facebook for some teasers), but please, cross your fingers to keep the rain away from our path! Thanks 😀seurasaari-9

11 thoughts on “Dancing shadows walk the Earth

  1. Congrats on #100
    Never seen a raccoon dog, before – always great to learn a new species. Your lyrics are amusing. At night in the forest, there are all sorts of rustling noises that activate the imagination! Good luck in Lapland.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Eliza! I’m glad you learn some things here 🙂
      We survived Lapland, now we have come back to civilization… more news soon, of course 😉

      Like

  2. Congratulations on post #100 (I recently hit post #50!) and it’s such a good one! I have never seen a raccoon dog until now and your pictures sure captured my imagination as well as the cool lyrics. Hope you have a great time in Lapland!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Wonders of Seurasaari | Eiwawar

Leave a Reply

