Flyvestation Værløse

Flyvestation Værløse… I have already taken you to this place.
You don’t remember? OK, I can’t blame you. In the first place, the header doesn’t show a picture of the area (I was so focused on the birds, I don’t have anything else…). Then, last time I was there, the ground was covered by snow. Remember now?

This time, the weather was much better, so I went by bike. I got a bit lost, but shhhh…

On the way, I spotted a bird of prey perched on a tree, next to the road. I stopped to take a look, but I expected it to take-off quickly. It didn’t, so I grabbed my binoculars from my bag. Even with them, I wasn’t sure whether this was a Common buzzard (Buteo buteo) or its nordic counterpart and winter visitor, the Rough-legged buzzard (Buteo lagopus). I had the feeling that it was the latter, but given how close these birds are and how little experience I have, I reserved judgment.

Rough-legged buzzard (Buteo lagopus)

Rough-legged buzzard (Buteo lagopus)

It still didn’t show any sign of impatience, so I also grabbed my camera. I fired a few shots, but when I stepped on the grass to get closer, it flew away and settled on another tree. It showed me its gloriously white upper tail, making me pretty confident it was a Rough-legged buzzard. I tried to chase it further, but it wouldn’t let me closer, so I let it be, packed my stuff again and resumed my journey.

As I started to cross the compound of the abandoned airport, scanning the area in quest of my targets, I saw a white shape drifting under the horizon, far away, eventually perching on a wood post: a Short-eared owl! Bingo, first target acquired 🙂

I strengthened my pace to go closer, but when I arrived on the disused runway, I saw no sign of the bird. Afficionados flew miniature planes (what an appropriate place for that, I thought), and cyclist trained for time trial.

I was walking to the north-east of the area when finally, I saw it. Flying a meter or two above the ground, it was hunting in the fields. What a show! It seemed to wander aimlessly, then sometimes would drop to the ground, taking off empty-handed (or should I say “empty-clawed”?) soon after, or perching on a post.

No real opportunity for pictures arose, but I enjoyed this special moment just as well. After seeing it disappear behind a hill, I wandered a bit more and spotted a Yellowhammer (Emberiza citrinella) singing at the top of a tree. A Common kestrel (Falco tinnunculus) let me come close enough to snap a portrait of it.

Common kestrel (Falco tinnunculus)

Common kestrel (Falco tinnunculus)

Further, I discovered that a lake actually hid behind the woods. I had no idea there was one there, but I’m glad I found this bird tower, because from there I saw my first Danish Red-necked grebe (Podiceps grisegena). It was far away, but since then, I have had better opportunities to see this gorgeous bird (head to Facebook for a sneak peek 😉 ). In the reeds, a Eurasian wren (Troglodytes troglodytes) sang to mark its territory.

Eurasian wren (Troglodytes troglodytes)

Eurasian wren (Troglodytes troglodytes)

On my way back, I was surprised by the same owl, hurrying, a prey in its claws. I saw it vanish behind a mound, but it didn’t show up on the other side. I approached carefully, and saw it sitting on a horizontal branch. When I pulled the trigger, it turned, and then flew away. I was left in astonishment, with a photograph surprisingly sharp.

Short-eared owl (Asio flammeus)

Short-eared owl (Asio flammeus)

As I left the area, I saw at least two other owls, maybe three. My quest for the Great grey shrike (Lanius excubitor) was vain again, but still, what a day!

Short-eared owl

Short-eared owl

> Flyvestation Værløse on Flickr

Bird inventory

BUTLAG ASIFLA EMBCITFALTIN TROTRO

17 thoughts on “Flyvestation Værløse

    • Merci Lo 🙂 Ça ma fait plaisir de faire découvrir des choses aux gens 🙂
      En fait d’oiseaux “nocturnes”, tu vois celui-là il chassait à midi 😉 Pour les vrais nocturnes, il faut savoir où les bestioles dorment. Ici, les sorties avec la LPO locale permettent d’avoir des info, et on a un groupe Facebook où les gens postent plein de photos d’oiseaux danois, avec souvent l’endroit. Autant dire que c’est une vraie mine d’or, je serais jamais allé sur cet aérodrome sans ça ^^

      Liked by 1 person

    • :).
      Et le fait que les infos de localisation etc soient partagées, cela ne dérange pas les animaux? Cela me gêne un peu en fait. Car beaucoup de personnes ensuite savent où se situent les oiseaux. Ce sont des questions que l’on peut se poser.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Ben, pfff, je sais pas. Il y avait eu un débat à propos des moyen-ducs… mais bon, ils habitent dans un cimetière, en centre-ville, donc ils en voient passer, du monde. Quant à la dernière chouette hulotte, ben écoute ça ne semblait pas la déranger que je sois juste devant elle ^^
      Moi je suis plutôt partisan du “tout le monde à le droit de voir les oiseaux”, mais c’est vrai qu’il y a des tarés partout donc bon… j’ai pas vraiment de réponse à te donner ^^

      Liked by 1 person

    • Oui les animaux habitués et adaptés aux villes en voient des humains hihi.
      Je ne prends pas partie, je m’interroge juste. Personnellement je partage mes photos mais je suis contente de trouver les animaux moi-même :). Je ne dis pas qu’il ne faut pas partager, mais il y a des lieux où c’est peut-être préférable de ne rien dire aux vues des comportements de ceux qui s’y baladent..

      Like

  1. This is brilliant, Samuel. I’ve read about Flyvestation Værløse’s attraction to birds and people from DOF:-).
    I must have a look soon.
    Today I saw cranes flew over Rudersdal and the little dipper are still in Rådvad but not giving the big show this time. Three ravens were exercising in Jægersborg Dyrehave 🙂
    Fantastic day and thanks for sharing those awesome birds.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much Hanna. I can show you the area, if you want.
      I wanted to ask you if you had seen the vandstær in Rådvad, but couldn’t comment your last article. Why is that?

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: FOCUS: Red-necked grebe | Eiwawar

  3. Pingback: To the south! | Eiwawar

  4. Pingback: Flyvestation Værløse | HANNA'S WALK

  5. Pingback: My Denmark: one year in a flat country | Eiwawar

Leave a Reply

