Frozen

Maybe the title of this article has reminded you of the Disney film of the same name. Maybe the theme song is now stuck in your head (I know people who hate that). I have never seen the movie, but I’m pretty sure the following interpretation is among the best you can find…

OK, now that I have delivered my joke, let’s move on. Snow has become a rarity in Copenhagen, and tempereatures rarely drop below zero during the day. However, nights are still fresh, and when you travel early in the morning, you see frozen water everywhere. That’s unfortunately a bit cold for birds, we will have to wait before we see the first migrants, but I joined a DOF tour to Hellebæk nonetheless. Weather forecasts were not really optimistic, and it was snowing when I woke up, but the sun wanted to be a witness of this day, so it chased the clouds away when I arrived to the north of Sjælland. Still, it wasn’t very strong, so every blade of grass was encased in frost, and so were the few ponds scattered in the fields.hellebæk

I met again the herd of Highland cattle that grazes in the area, and they also seemed frozen, as they almost didn’t move. I definitely didn’t need to worry about blurred pictures!

hellebæk-2 hellebæk-3This enchanting scenery shone in the warm light of the morning, so I sat in the crisp cold grass and took some pictures before the start of the birding excursion. We didn’t see many exciting birds, except for a Sparrowhawk (Accipiter nisus), a Goshawk (Accipiter gentilis) and some Common buzzards (Buteo buteo). In the forest, Great spotted woodpeckers (Dendrocopos major) hammered on the trees.

hellebæk-9

hellebæk-8 hellebæk-7

In spite of this relative tranquillity, there was a show in the sky when the clouds made a dramatic come-back. A battle of will ensued, to my delight. I’ve already told you I liked clouds, right?

hellebæk-5hellebæk-6> Hellebæk on Flickr

7 thoughts on “Frozen

  1. Pingback: My Denmark: one year in a flat country | Eiwawar

Leave a Reply

