Helsinki on kaunis kesäkaupunki

“Helsinki is a beautiful summer city”
That is one of the first sentences in Finnish I learnt last year. I didn’t really understood what it meant at that time, because it was already the end of August: the weather was still good, but the days were getting chillier. I learnt Finland was not a place where you want to go out without a rain jacket, even if the sun shines bright 😀

A grey autumn came, and then a warm winter which lingered until Vappu and the end of April. On the first of May, the Hop-on Hop-off tourist buses started to roam the streets, the temperatures timidly rose above ten degrees, and I put my winter coat back in the wardrobe. This was the beginning of a lovely period, sunny and warm (kinda warm, at least). I had few lectures at that time, so I spent a lot of time outside, exploring the city and some wild areas nearby, on unforgettable photowalks with my friend Márton. I keep fond memories of that time, memories that surfaced again when I went through all my pictures a few weeks ago.

Since I wasn’t writing this blog back then, you may not have seen them yet. Moreover, the weather these days is not always pretty, so I thought a cure of sun would be beneficial to all of us. Will you follow me?

helsinki-3

Suomenlinna

When I selected these pictures, I realized that many of them were taken during a trip to Suomenlinna, this fortress-island classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. It’s one of my favourite places in Helsinki: peaceful and beautiful, with birds and a warm sunset caressing the stony shore. I really recommend it.

helsinki

The Cathedral, from the ferry to Suomenlinna

helsinki-9

Northern wheatear in Suomenlinna

helsinki-17

Länsi-Musta, Suomenlinna

helsinki-15

Länsi-Musta, Suomenlinna

helsinki-4

Helsinki, from the ferry to Suomenlinna

When it got too cold, we would just take the ferry back, usually witnessing the sun set behind the city.

helsinki-24

Helsinki, from the ferry to Suomenlinna

By the way, Denmark definitely has nice sunrises, but the “Best sunsets” award goes to Finland. Period.

helsinki-23

Suomenlinna

helsinki-12

Bridge between Ruoholahti and Lauttasaari

helsinki-6

Hietalahti

Birdlife in Helsinki is vibrant, no need to go far to experience breathtaking encounters.

helsinki-5

Black-headed gull, Suomenoja

helsinki-8

Barn swallow, Suomenlinna

helsinki-10

Sedge warbler, Suomenoja

helsinki-14

Northern wheatear, Suomenlinna

helsinki-11

Northern lapwing, Laajalahti

helsinki-26

Great spotted woodpecker (young), Seurasaari

One day, I stayed up late in the night, editing pictures or playing video games, I don’t remember. When I was about to go to bed, a friend of mine sent me a message on Facebook, and we started to chat for an hour or two. It was three in the morning, and I wasn’t even tired, so I decided to go see the sun rise over the city. Did that excursion trigger my current taste for sunrises? I don’t know, but this walk in the sleepy city, silence only broken by birds and dustmen, was thrilling. I went to the harbour and waited for the sun to appear, then walked back and went to bed!

helsinki-22

Helsinki at sunrise

helsinki-21

Helsinki at sunrise

I miss this city…

> Helsinki on Flickr

helsinki-18

Suomenlinna

17 thoughts on “Helsinki on kaunis kesäkaupunki

  1. Pingback: Utterslev Mose in winter | Eiwawar

  2. Pingback: An evening by the sea | Eiwawar

  3. Pingback: An ode to Grenoble | Eiwawar

Leave a Reply

