Rømø

In the morning of the 16th, I took a quick walk to the shore, where I met a birder who showed me a few White-tailed eagles (Haliaeetus albicilla) with a scope. I left Mandø and headed south, to the island of Rømø. I followed the coast, but the road was on the inland side of the dike, so I did not see much of the sea. Luckily, the fields to the east were covered by Northern lapwings (Vanelus vanellus) and Golden plovers (Pluvialis apricaria), while in the sky evolved scores of Barnacle geese (Branta leucopsis) and Starlings (Sturnus vulgaris). I had no time to be bored, because if I had been, I would have missed this Hen harrier (Circus cyaneus) taking off from the road and disappearing behind the dike, a few meters ahead. Minutes before reaching the dam that leads to Rømø, I scared a Rough-legged buzzard (Buteo lagopus), a wintering raptor coming from the north. It was perched on a tree, and showed me its splendid white tail when it left.

The road to Rømø is built on a 10km-long dam that links the island to the mainland whatever the tide. After spending 3 hours in the cold, with an everlasting wind blowing from the side, the crossing was an ordeal, and I was glad to find the doors to my accommodation open early in the afternoon.

After warming up indoors, I paid a visit to Lakolk and its immense beach. I did not see many birds except for a few Moorhens (Gallinula chloropus) wandering on the grass surrounding their pond, but on the way there was a superb orange heath. A thin, annoying rain started to fall again, so I headed back to the hostel.

rømø

rømø-5

rømø-6

On the day after, I went to the south of the island, in a small town called Havneby. Next to the harbor, the low tide revealed a large strand hosting many feeding birds, including gulls, Eurasian oystercatchers (Haematopus ostralegus), Eurasian curlew (Numenius arquata), Eurasian wigeon (Anas penelope) and a few not-so-shy Brant geese (Branta bernicla) striking the pose for me. Kind birds.

rømø-7

rømø-8

rømø-9

After that nice shoot, I walked along the dike (yes, another one) to the south. I saw a Sparrowhawk (Accipiter nisus) dash above the grass, perch on a stake, then leave before I could even try to get closer. A nice Common reed bunting (Emberiza schoeniclus) stood at the top of its cherished reeds along the track for some time, before backing down.

The keeper

The keeper

The walk along the shore was not very interesting, because the birds were much too far, but the walk back, on the inland side of the dike, offered me nice sightings. In a bush, Goldcrests (Regulus regulus), Robins (Erithacus rubecula) and Chiffchaffes (Phylloscopus collybita) rummaged through in quest of food, and further ahead, a second Water rail (Rallus aquaticus) within 4 days (!) appeared. So yes, the picture is bad, I did not have much time before it left, but still, I have a picture of a Water rail!

Water rail (Rallus aquaticus)

Water rail (Rallus aquaticus)

Finally, a Northern wren (Troglodytes troglodytes) perched on top of a bush long enough for me to pull the trigger two or three times.

Northern wren (Troglodytes troglodytes)

Northern wren (Troglodytes troglodytes)

Then it was time to go back, pick my stuff at the hostel (which I really recommend, see my tourist guide) and cycle to Skærbæk, where I took a train to Copenhagen.
That was the end of my holidays, but certainly not the end of my adventures. There’s more to come, so stay tuned, and feel free to share these articles, I would appreciate it a lot 🙂

> Sydvestjylland gallery

One thought on “Rømø

  1. Pingback: My Denmark: one year in a flat country | Eiwawar

Leave a Reply

