Mandø

After this outstanding day in Ribe, I headed to the island of Mandø, or what one could call ‘the end of the world’. To help you visualize, Mandø is no bigger than 8 km², and it’s flat. Very flat, actually, except for the dike that runs all around the island to protect it from storms and floods. Oh, and you can access it only when the tide is low.
Fortunately, I was given good information, and I planned my trip accordingly. At 10 in the morning, I crossed the strait. My bike struggled a bit on this uneven ground, but I was rewarded by the sight of three Eurasian spoonbills (Platalea leucorodia) taking off from the mudflats along the track.

The dike, and the shore

The dike, and the shore

I left my stuff in my cottage, and took a stroll along the shore. The tide was still low, and the birds shy, so it was tough to get close, but I saw a lot of golden plovers (Pluvialis apricaria) and curlews (Numenius arquata), with gulls of course.

European golden plover (Pluvialis apricaria)

European golden plover (Pluvialis apricaria)

In the afternoon, I saw the sun for the first time in two days. It didn’t last long, maybe a few hours, but what a relief! There were a lot of migrating Common kestrels (Falco tinnunculus) and Eurasian sparrowhawks (Accipiter nisus) playing in the wind, I had never seen so many of them. I also spotted a Great egret (Casmerodius albus), but it flew away before I could unsheathe my camera.

mandø-13

In the end, the most interesting part of the island was maybe the village, where a lot of perch birds fed. Eurasian siskin, greenfinch, chaffinch, brambling, starling, blackbird, goldcrest, redwing… Yes, they really like these red berries, and photographers really like when they stand in these trees.

Brambling (Fringilla montifringilla)

Brambling (Fringilla montifringilla)

Common starling (Sturnus vulgaris)

Common starling (Sturnus vulgaris)

Goldcrest (Regulus regulus)

Goldcrest (Regulus regulus)

> Flickr gallery

Brambling (Fringilla montifringilla)

Brambling (Fringilla montifringilla)

mandø-14

3 thoughts on “Mandø

  1. Peut-être que c’est parce que je ne le vois jamais mais je trouve le Pinson du nord bien joli. Et bien joué pour le roitelet, c’est très difficile à prendre en photo. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: My Denmark: one year in a flat country | Eiwawar

Leave a Reply

