Vestamager

Until the end of the year, I will have no class on Friday. Can there be a better occupation than birdwatching to start the week-end? (Homework? Nah, too mainstream…)

So yesterday I woke up at 11, and it was sunny. After Utterslev Mose, I decided to visit another birding place. Supported by the amazing website of DOF, the local bird conservation association, I settled on Vestamager. It’s a large green area located south of Copenhagen, next to the airport. Birds and planes to spot, the day promised to be good.

After an hour of biking through the city center, I reached a wide plains covered in grazing fields. In the distance, I could see a small wood, and behind it the dyke marking the end of the area.

I walked through the meadows. To my right, I observed a herd of cows followed by flocks of Common starlings (Sturnus vulgaris) and Western yellow wagtails (Motacilla flava).

Common starling (Sturnus vulgaris)

Common starling (Sturnus vulgaris)

Western yellow wagtail (Motacilla flava)

Western yellow wagtail (Motacilla flava)

The birds were probably taking advantage of the cows disturbing insects on their grazing march.

In the meadows, I observed large bands of Barnacle and Greylag geese, and also Fallow deers (Dama dama).

vestamager-3

The most delighting ingredients of this excursion were certainly the raptor observations: an Osprey (Pandion haliaetus) glided in the wind not far above me, a Eurasian sparrowhawk (Accipiter nisus) darted from right to left in front of me, frightening scores of crows and jackdaws, before perching on a tree, a Common kestrel (Falco tinnunculus) displayed its characteric hovering flight while searching for food, and a Western marsh harrier (Circus aeruginosus) slowly passed above a pond’s shore, scanning the reeds in quest for frogs or small mammals.

The southernmost part of Vestamager is a restricted reserve containing a large pool which welcomed a mass of waders and ducks. I could not identify every species (I had left my book at home…), but the Northen lapwings (Vanellus vanellus) were not quiet enough to dodge my attention. I visited an birdwatching cabin sheltering lots of swallow nests… inside! Needless to say, it was really dirty, but the birds were gone.

Unknown wader - Sanderling or Red knot?

Unknown wader – Sanderling or Red knot?

The sun had played hide and seek with the clouds for an hour or two, but it eventually resigned, leaving the clouds rule the sky. I managed to dodge most of the raindrops, but I was not completely at ease… the weather forecast was much better! Anyway, the area is promising, so I’m sure I’ll come back.

> Full gallery

vestamager-4

2 thoughts on “Vestamager

  1. Pingback: An evening by the sea | Eiwawar

  2. Pingback: My Denmark: one year in a flat country | Eiwawar

Leave a Reply

